Paesaggio di meditazione e colori dei chakra per l'equilibrio - 3d render

How do you connect chakras, the energy centers of the body in Eastern tradition, and flowers, pretty, ephemeral, bright, cheerful manifestations of nature?

Balancing Chakras to Energize

Colour therapy, Yoga energy balancing methods, Meditation… and a simple means of making yourself feel reenergized even in case you don’t really believe in any of the aforementioned.

There are seven major chakras (as well as many others) in a line from the bottom of the spine to the crown of the head and yet another recently recognised chakra just above the head that I think is critical. Each one is associated with several areas of physical, psychological and spiritual well-being. When the energy flow in one becomes blocked it could lead to certain symptoms and vice versa. By maintaining the chakras open and the energy flowing, we can maximise our body’s ability to maintain well and heal itself.

One way of stimulating energy flow is by an easy visualisation. Each chakra has a color of the spectrum connected to it. Focus on that color and imagine that color light emitting to the chakra and saturating it in pure colored light, then visualise the chakra as a spinning disc of color. Take two or three deep breaths as you do this. It is also possible to repeat a mantra or affirmation to intensify the positive energy you’re creating. Work through each chakra (see below for summary) subsequently from Root to Crown to rebalance your entire energy level.

Flowers Connection

So what about the flowers? Whatever you use to visualise the color would work, paint swatches, colored stones or crystals, a picture in your minds eye, but beautiful photos of flowers saturated from the pure color of each chakra can bring a little excess flower energy in your life also.

Flowers raise the vibrational energy around them, and that’s why they have long been associated with celebrations, brought as gifts to new mothers, sick people, loved ones. Weddings and funerals are lavish together. We’re seldom aware of the spiritual link nowadays, we just know that flowers cheer up people and make them feel happy. So blossom photos as visualisation helps make sense and are beautiful to have around.

There are books written about the chakras going into much more detail than there is space for this, since it’s a deep and complex subject, with infinite, individual interpretations, but here’s a basic, brief review of the chakras and their related areas and colors.

Chakras Meaning

1. Root – Red

Situated at the bottom of the spine.

Emotional grounding and ones origins.

The excretory and reproductive systems and the immune system.

Mantra: “I’m in touch with the ground, my origins”.

2. Sacral – Orange

A hands breadth down in the belly button.

Sexuality, creativity, financial problems, honor and integrity, one to one relationships.

Genital and urinary systems, prostate and bladder.

Mantra: “I am a creative, sexual being”.

3. Solar Plexus – Yellow

Over the solar plexus in the base of the rib cage.

Self-esteem, self-confidence and how you see yourself.

Digestive system, worries and anxieties, the strain of responsibility.

Mantra “I believe in myself”

4. Heart – Green

Center of the breast.

Love, forgiveness, unconditional love. Relationships.

Circulatory and immune systems. Heart and lungs. Loneliness.

Mantra: “I will give and receive love”

5. Throat – Blue

Centre of the throat.

Communication, self-expression and will power.

Thyroid problems, sore throats, addictions (because of lack of will).

Mantra: “I speak my truth”

6. Brow – Indigo

Centre of eyebrow.

Intuition, mind and intellect, inner vision.

Brain and nervous system, eye issues.

Mantra: “I see clearly”

7. Crown – Violet

Top of head.

Spiritual awakening, search for meaning. Our relationship to our soul and God.

Central nervous system, overwhelming fatigue.

Mantra: “I think”

8. Soul star – White/crystal

Directly over the crown, about two hand breadths in the head.

Awareness of ones soul and its connection to the conscious self.

Gives perspective on life and ability to see apparently arbitrary positive or negative events as part of their soul’s journey.

Mantra: “I transcend”


This is a private, simplified interpretation of the chakras. Use it as a stepping stone to finding out more for yourself.